Summer DIY Project: Ugly Podium

I don’t know about anyone else, but I always have these big plans to get all this stuff done over the summer and I NEVER DO.

Things like: “Oh, I’m going to read this book that I’ll be teaching this year and plan out some reading quizzes and discussion topics.”
How about: “Oh, I’m going to make a pacing guide for how long it will take to teach Julius Ceasar if we read 1 Act or more per week.”
Or my personal favorite: “Oh, I’m going to wake up early every day so I can exercise and eat healthy while I have all this free time.”

Being LazyNone of those things happened. INSTEAD: I ended up reading adolescent novels that I can finish in one day and have music playing in the background while I read. I ended up watching every single episode of Dexter on Netflix. I ended up sleeping until ten on most days, and then playing a game that I like to call “Eat Everything in Sight Because You’re Home Alone All Day and Bored.” So I have enjoyed this mantra to your left all summer long.

PodiumOne thing that I did accomplish was painting the old, disgusting podium that was sitting in my classroom. I inherited this podium with my room, and I think every teacher that has used it has painted it a different color. Without taking the previous layers of paint off, mind you. Needless to say, it was really bumpy from all fifty layers of paint and quite wonky. I brought this bad boy home and gave him a much-needed makeover. Unfortunately, I don’t have a before picture to go with the after picture, but trust me, it’s a major improvement.

Front PodiumFirst, I had to take all the old paint off. When I say that there were fifty layers of paint, I wasn’t kidding. Okay, so there was only like five layers, but that is still a lot. The bottom layer had student names all over it. (I wonder if there was really a student who liked to be called Pumba, but I’ll never know.) Then after the paint stripper had burned my eyes out of the sockets, I sanded it down. My dad then added a new strip of wood to the lip of the top because it was falling off and badly broken. He also secured the bottom so that it wasn’t so wobbly. I gave it two coats of black paint. Then a couple days later, I did my multi-colored polka dots.

I have to say, I wasn’t too sure about how it was going to turn out, but I LOVE IT. My mom is a teacher too, and now she wants everything made of wood in her classroom painted with polka dots. *SIGH* I should have known not to do any projects around her. What do you think? Oh, and is it inappropriate to paint on the top part: Bang Head Here? Just wondering. For now, I’ll leave it be.

Leave a Comment

